The Adventure Zone

The Adventure Zone

Here There Be Gerblins

Book - 2018
Average Rating:
Rate this:
9
3
"Join Taako the elf wizard, Merle the dwarf cleric, and Magnus the human warrior for an adventure they are poorly equipped to handle AT BEST, guided ("guided") by their snarky DM, in a graphic novel that, like the smash-hit podcast it's based on, will tickle your funny bone, tug your heartstrings, and probably pants you if you give it half a chance." -- Amazon.com.
Publisher: New York :, First Second,, 2018
Edition: First edition
Copyright Date: ©2018
ISBN: 9781250153708
1250153700
Characteristics: 238 pages : color illustrations ; 23 cm
Alternative Title: Here there be gerblins

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
k
kwsmith
Jun 30, 2019

The McElroy family produces a popular D&D themed podcast which was serialized into this full colour graphic novel. The art is very well done, but you can expect plenty of juvenile humour wrapped around a paper thin plot.

s
saracrofty
May 31, 2019

It DESERVES a 6 star!

JessicaGma Mar 27, 2019

Entertaining but I bet I would have loved it more had I been a fan of the podcast it came from. If you love D&D, you'll enjoy this.

s
SnoIsleLib_JannahM
Mar 09, 2019

For lovers of Dungeons and Dragons, as well as D&D-uninitiated fantasy enthusiasts who prefer a heavy-handed amount of absurdity and pop culture references. This romp of three unlikely heroes (are they really heroes, though?) is derived from a podcast of the same name, and is sure to please fans of the McElroy family and their goofy sense of humor.

r
rapunzel454
Nov 20, 2018

Hilarious! What a fun story and characters!

c
chmcho
Aug 30, 2018

As a fan of the Adventure Zone podcast and Dungeons & Dragons, I was excited to see this adaptation of their first campaign arc. The illustrations are done in such a loving manner, and they bring to life all of the fun and excitement I had listening to the McElroy's for the first time all over again. I was so touched by the comic and seeing all of the characters I had been picturing in my head arrayed before me, that I wanted to immediately re-listen to those early episodes. It is my sincere hope that they continue to produce the remaining arcs, so I can enjoy ever single chapter for years to come.

OPL_KrisC Aug 08, 2018

A hilarious, action-packed graphic novel that will have you laughing out loud and shaking your head. Great, eye-catching graphics and a must read for fans of Dungeons & Dragons!

h
HKMar
Aug 07, 2018

If you play D&D or have played this a fun rendition of it. Can't wait to read the 2nd book.

The Adventure Zone is a longtime favorite podcast of mine. The characters- Merle, Magnus, and Taako- interact beautifully, and the narrative is both touching and action-packed. It consists of 3 brothers and their dad playing Dungeons & Dragons, which sounds unconventional and rules-laden, but actually flows nicely- it got me into D&D. I was delighted to hear that they were releasing a graphic novel. Readers should be aware that it contains crude sexual humor and profanity, but the book is a great jumping-off point for the podcast.

Age

Add Age Suitability
r
rapunzel454
Nov 20, 2018

rapunzel454 thinks this title is suitable for 15 years and over

OPL_KrisC Aug 08, 2018

OPL_KrisC thinks this title is suitable for 12 years and over

AllHailTheGlowCloud thinks this title is suitable for 13 years and over

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at MenloPark

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top