A Small Indiscretion

A Small Indiscretion

Downloadable Audiobook - 2015
Average Rating:
Rate this:
Random House Digital
Fans of Everything I Never Told You and The Girl on the Train will devour this page-turning literary debut about a harrowing coming-of-age and a marriage under siege from O. Henry Prize winner Jan Ellison.  "Delicious, lazy-day reading. Just don't underestimate the writing."—O: The Oprah Magazine (Editor's Pick)   "Ellison is a tantalizing storyteller . . . moving her story forward with cinematic verve."—USA Today   "Rich with suspense . . . Lovely writing guides us through, driven by a quiet generosity."—San Francisco Chronicle (Book Club Pick)   At nineteen, Annie Black abandons California for a London winter of drinking to oblivion and looking for love in the wrong places. Twenty years later, she is a happily married mother of three living in San Francisco. Then one morning, a photograph arrives in her mailbox, and an old obsession is awakened.   After a return trip to London, Annie's marriage falters, her store floods, and her son, Robbie, takes a night-time ride that nearly costs him his life. Now Annie must fight to save her family by untangling the mysteries of that reckless winter in Europe that drew an invisible map of her future.   With the brilliant pacing and emotional precision that won Jan Ellison an O. Henry Prize for her first published story, A Small Indiscretion announces a major new voice in suspense fiction as it unfolds a story of denial, obsession, love, forgiveness—and one woman's reckoning with her own fateful mistakes.   Praise for A Small Indiscretion"Rich and detailed . . . The plot explodes delightfully, with suspense and a few twists. Using second-person narration and hypnotic prose, Ellison's debut novel is both juicy and beautifully written. How do I know it's juicy? A stranger started reading it over my shoulder on the New York City subway, and told me he was sorry that I was turning the pages too quickly."—Flavorwire"Are those wild college days ever really behind you? Happily married Annie finds out."—Cosmopolitan"An impressive fiction debut . . . both a psychological mystery and a study of the divide between desire and duty."—San Jose Mercury News"A novel to tear through on a plane ride or on the beach . . . I was drawn into a web of secrets, a world of unrequited love and youthful mistakes that feel heightened and more romantic on the cold winter streets of London, Paris, and Ireland."—Bustle   "Ellison renders the California landscape with stunning clarity. . . . She writes gracefully, with moments of startling insight. . . . Her first novel is an emotional thriller, skillfully plotted in taut, visual scenes."—The Rumpus  "To read A Small Indiscretion is to eat fudge before dinner: slightly decadent behavior, highly caloric, and extremely satisfying. . . . An emotional detective story that . . . mirrors real life in ways that surprise and inspire."—New York Journal of Books"If you liked Gone Girl for its suspenseful look inside the psychology of a bad marriage, try A Small Indiscretion. . . . It touches many of the same nerves."—Stylecaster"A great book club selectio

Findaway World Llc

NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY SAN FRANCISCO CHRONICLE • With the emotional complexity of Everything I Never Told You and the psychological suspense of The Girl on the Train, O. Henry Prize winner Jan Ellison delivers a brilliantly paced, beautifully written debut novel about one woman's reckoning with a youthful mistake.

"Part psychological thriller, part character study . . . I peeled back the pages of this book as fast as I could."-The Huffington Post


At nineteen, Annie Black trades a bleak future in a washed-out California town for a London winter of drinking and abandon. Twenty years later, she is a San Francisco lighting designer and happily married mother of three who has put her reckless youth behind her. Then a photo from that distant winter in Europe arrives inexplicably in her mailbox, and an old obsession is awakened.

Past and present collide, Annie's marriage falters, and her son takes a car ride that ends with his life hanging in the balance. Now Annie must confront her own transgressions and fight for her family by untangling the mysteries of the turbulent winter that drew an invisible map of her future. Gripping, insightful, and lyrical, A Small Indiscretion announces the arrival of a major new voice in literary suspense as it unfolds a story of denial, passion, forgiveness-and the redemptive power of love.

Praise for A Small Indiscretion

"Ellison is a tantalizing storyteller . . . moving her story forward with cinematic verve."-USA Today

"Rich with suspense . . . Lovely writing guides us through, driven by a quiet generosity."-San Francisco Chronicle (Book Club pick)

"Delicious, lazy-day reading. Just don't underestimate the writing."-O: The Oprah Magazine (Editor's Pick)

"Rich and detailed . . . The plot explodes delightfully, with suspense and a few twists. Using second-person narration and hypnotic prose, Ellison's debut novel is both juicy and beautifully written. How do I know it's juicy? A stranger started reading it over my shoulder on the New York City subway, and told me he was sorry that I was turning the pages too quickly."-Flavorwire

"Are those wild college days ever really behind you? Happily married Annie finds out."-Cosmopolitan

"An impressive fiction debut . . . both a psychological mystery and a study of the divide between desire and duty."-San Jose Mercury News

"A novel to tear through on a plane ride or on the beach . . . I was drawn into a web of secrets, a world of unrequited love and youthful mistakes that feel heightened and more romantic on the cold winter streets of London, Paris, and Ireland."-Bustle

"Ellison renders the California landscape with stunning clarity. . . . She writes gracefully, with moments of startling insight. . . . Her first novel is an emotional thriller, skillfully plotted in taut, visual scenes."-The Rumpus

"To read A Small Indiscretion is to eat fudge before dinner: slightly decadent behavior, highly caloric, and extremely satisfying. . . . An emotional detective story that . . . mirrors real life in ways that surprise and inspire."-New York Journal of Books

"If you liked Gone Girl for its suspenseful look inside the psychology of a bad marriage, try A Small Indiscretion. . . . It touches many of the same nerves."-StyleCaster

From the Hardcover edition.

Publisher: Random House Digital,, 2015
Edition: Unabridged
ISBN: 9780553399790
0553399799
Characteristics: 1 online resource
Additional Contributors: Baker & Taylor Axis 360
Alternative Title: Axis 360 eBooks

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

There are no comments for this title yet.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at MenloPark

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top