London Rain

London Rain

A New Mystery Featuring Josephine Tey

Book - 2016
Average Rating:
Rate this:
5
"Intrepid writer and amateur sleuth Josephine Tey returns in this sixth installment of Nicola Upson's popular series--perfect for fans of Agatha Christie's Hercule Poirot and Jaqueline Winspear's Maisie Dobbs--that unfolds in 1930s London as England prepares to crown a new king. London, 1937. Following the gloomy days of the abdication of King Edward VIII, the entire city is elated to welcome King George. Just one of the many planned festivities for the historic coronation is a BBC radio adaptation of Queen of Scots, and the original playwright, Josephine Tey, has been invited to sit in on rehearsals. Soon, however, Josephine gets wrapped up in another sort of drama. The lead actress has been sleeping with Britain's most venerable newsman, Anthony Beresford--and his humiliated wife happens to work in the building. The sordid affair seems to reach its bloody climax when Beresford is shot to death in his broadcasting booth at the deafening height of the coronation ceremony. Josephine's dear friend, Detective Chief Inspector Archie Penrose, has the case wrapped up before long. But when a second, seemingly related murder throws Penrose for a loop, it falls to Josephine to unravel a web of betrayal, jealousy, and long-held secrets ... caught all the while in a love triangle of her own making. Charming and provocative, thick with the atmosphere of prewar England, London Rain is a captivating portrait of a city on the edge--and an unforgettable woman always one step ahead of her time"-- Provided by publisher.
"May, 1937, London: The country is still reeling from Edward VIII's shocking decision to abdicate the throne in order to marry the woman he loves, Wallis Simpson. As London prepares for the historic Coronation of his brother, George, bestselling writer Josephine Tey is in town to oversee a BBC radio production of her play, Queen of Scots. When one of the BBC's best-known broadcasters is murdered at the height of the Coronation celebrations, Josephine has a front row seat. Detective Chief Inspector Archie Penrose is called to investigate--and then another killing occurs. The victim? The leading actress in Josephine's play, who happened to be the broadcaster's mistress. Adultery, treachery, and pent-up jealousies clearly haunt the BBC, suggesting the motive lies close to home, but Josephine suspects that the killings are linked to a decade-old scandal. His hands tied by bureaucracy and his attention taken by another, seemingly unrelated death, Archie is unable to solve the case. It's up to Josephine to untangle a long-hidden web of love, deceit and betrayal. As her own relationship with Marta Fox reaches a turning point, she must confront the consequences of romance gone awry"-- Provided by publisher.
Publisher: New York, NY :, Bourbon Street Books,, 2016
Edition: First Harper paperbacks edition
ISBN: 9780062418159
0062418157
Characteristics: 329 pages ; 21 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
k
kountzcl
Jun 02, 2017

Not as captivating a mystery as the blurb claims... but I read to the end and appreciated the author's twist. She has a verbose style, with pairs of descriptive phrases where one would do as well. The London setting is not evoked as precisely as in the Nikki French mysteries.

r
reeread
Jan 28, 2017

A great read for anyone interested in London, the BBC or the coronation of King George in the 1930s. Fascinating background to a complex murder mystery.

m
maipenrai
Nov 26, 2016

The sixth book in the Josephine Tey series

MariePat Jul 24, 2016

I am not familiar with the other Josephine Tey books, so I wouldn't consider myself an expert. I found this book to be slow and plodding and I could not really get into the plot or characters.

a
Activevoice
Jun 04, 2016

This is an interesting series based on the a fictional life of the writer Josephine Tey of "Daughter of Time" Fame . The FVL system doesn't have the first in the series but this novel isn't dependent on following the series. The novel provides an interesting insight into 1930's BBC, London, and Upson's writing is heavily influenced by P D James (a friend).

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at MenloPark

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top