Shutter

Shutter

Book - 2014
Average Rating:
9
2
1
Rate this:
"Kate Kristopher was a globally renowned explorer on an Earth far more fantastive than our own. Then she wasn't. Ten years later, a family secret shatters the quiet life she built, forcing her back into the role of adventurer in a world that's both marvelous...and frightening." --p [4] of cover of Vol. 1.
Publisher: Berkely, Cal : Image Comics, 2014
ISBN: 9781632151452
1632151456
Characteristics: 1 volume (unpaged) : chiefly color illustrations. ; 26 cm
Additional Contributors: Del Duca, Leila - Artist

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

c
coop_zero
Apr 09, 2017

One of the more imaginative graphic novels i have ever picked up. Its world is really unique. The art is really awesome and fits perfectly with the style of the book.

AL_JOSHUAS Mar 11, 2017

A super fun sci-fi future spin on Indiana Jones. The action in this one keeps the pace nice and quick and the story and characters had me invested from the very beginning.

AL_KAYLA Jan 19, 2017

Love Love LOVE! After the initial shock of, wow there's a lot of strange beings and what's going on?! I really got into this futuristic alternate earthly reality following the famous "retired" explorer Kate as she tries to figure out why her life's suddenly thrown into peril with the visit of some very unexpected relatives. Enjoyed how the adventure was captured in such a fast paced nature and loved the style of the steampunk anthropomorphic very eclectic cast of characters.

m
marypaz13
Dec 23, 2016

Very interesting. It left me wanting more!!

LeRat May 31, 2016

An interesting start to a new graphic novel series that explores the concept of the child adventurer in a more adult setting. Looking forward to reading more in this series.

d
dmiron45
Jan 28, 2016

With anthropomorphic animals, spaceships, and pulpy adventure, this story feels full of Disney-esque magic and wonder but with grown-up violence

a
AceLib
Nov 23, 2015

"Shutter" is a fantastic take on the "Grown up child adventurer" Story. Similar in idea to "The Venture Bros," but a much more serious story.

It follows Kate an early 20's ex-adventurer trying to live a normal life where moon-rockets, living robot clocks, and animal people are a daily occurrence. Her life is quickly thrown into turmoil when her deceased father's legacy resurfaces and plunges her into a world of danger, intrigue, and worst of all, Family.

This graphic novel boasts a beautiful art style, deep and engaging world, wonderful character development, and enough mystery to keep you coming back for more.

k
Krtjms
Oct 01, 2015

Fans of Saga and Lara Croft will be excited to meet their new favorite comic book heroine, Kate Kristopher. Without giving away any of the plot line, this series feels like fresh and inventive science fiction. If you’re reading other Image Comics series, you won’t want to miss this one.

This one is really fun. I love the art! I also enjoyed the story enough to keep looking for the second volume.

Notices

Add Notices

m
marypaz13
Dec 23, 2016

Violence: Some very graphic scenes.

m
marypaz13
Dec 23, 2016

Coarse Language: The author tries to cover some up with funny comments, but there is profanity.

Age

Add Age Suitability

k
Krtjms
Oct 01, 2015

Krtjms thinks this title is suitable for 13 years and over

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at MenloPark

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top